What do you enjoy most about working at RP?

I really enjoy working with a team of people who blend technical and creative skills – our team at RP is exceptionally talented in this respect.  Also, being part of an innovative and entrepreneurial business that makes excellent use of technology is exhilarating.

Can you tell us a little bit about how you got into your line of work that lead you to RP?

I am a third generation ‘fabric retailer’ having worked briefly in the family business with my father and grandfather. I followed a career in Human Resources and used my marketing skills for business development in this area. I have recently worked for a charity clothing shop and completed a short course on Window Design at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London.

What is your favourite RP pattern?

The Taylor LadiesTrenchcoat.

Describe a typical day in your life.

 I often start the day with a video call to my adult children in New Zealand. I love a coffee in the morning. I am a ‘list person’, so generally work through my ‘to do’ list of priorities. I aim to do an hour of exercise each day – often walking or cycling. I enjoy cooking – so prepare the meal each evening leaving my chef’s assistant (my husband) to perfect his skills in dishwashing.

Tell us a bit about your style. 

 I like to dress in a contemporary style – I love bias cut skirts and patterned tops. In winter I like to wear leather trousers and interesting coats and jackets.

Where are you from? And where do you currently live?  

I am a New Zealander and have been living in London since May 2018. I currently live directly next to Tower Bridge – one of the most iconic London landmarks.

How long have you been sewing and how did you start? 

I started sewing at about the age of 10 when my mother bought us a Bernina sewing machine (over 40 years ago). That machine was mine until I sold it two years ago. I had a gap from sewing for several years and then picked it up again to sew costumes for my daughter – who was very involved in the performing arts (and has since completed a performing arts degree).

If you had one wish (not necessarily sewing related) what would it be? 

To see all my family members thrive.

What’s your super power?

Lack of procrastination.

What’s the super power you really want? 

Enabling others to achieve their dreams.

Can you please share some go-to fail-safe tips for beginner sewistas?  

My mother always suggested sewing in a larger stitch – which makes it easy to unpick any errors. Also, measure twice (and cut once).

Describe your perfect Sunday.  

Coffee, salad lunch, walk, read magazines and newspapers, cook dinner, BBC TV drama then early to bed.

If you were stranded on a desert island, which historical figure would you want with you?  

My husband is good company but if he’s not available I think MacGyver – his skills could be useful.

What’s the sound of your favourite colour?  

Birds chirping.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time? 

Read.

If you could turn any activity into an Olympic sport, what would you have a good chance at winning medal for?  

Gardening (bronze).

What do you wish you knew more about?

I would love to be fluent in French.

Helen Currey
Operations Manager